Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. the seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life:1 they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life. CCC1210

Christian initiation is accomplished by three sacraments together: Baptism which is the beginning of new life; Confirmation which is its strengthening; and the Eucharist which nourishes the disciple with Christ's Body and Blood for his transformation in Christ. CCC1275

(CCC = Catechism of the Catholic Church)

Sacraments of Initiation

  • Baptism
  • Eucharist
  • Confirmation

Sacraments of Healing

  • Reconciliation
  • Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments of Vocation

  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Holy Orders